“Thank You, Dad” (A Father’s Day Poem)

Thank You, Dad
By Jordan Bates

Dad, I don’t know how to start to thank you or where this poem will end.
I just want to tell you how special you are to me. My hero and my friend.

I remember as a child when you would read to me at night.
You taught me to always count my blessings and to always be polite.

You let me sleep with you and Mom whenever I was scared.
When people hurt me, you got angry. I know how much you care.

You showed me how to ride a bike, and you were there when I scraped my knee.
I always know I have your love no matter what has happened recently.

You took me hiking, fishing, and camping to share with me your passions.
From you I got my sense of humor. You always keep me laughing.

I inherited your love for travel. All of our vacations were great.
You showed me that a good work ethic is a valuable and respected trait.

You pushed me hard, so I could reach the pinnacle of success.
You believed in me and beamed with pride each time I aced a test.

I remember all our late night talks. You give such good advice.
You set for me a great example. I’ve learned so much from your life.

You showed me that life is good, and we only live it once.
So we should be sure to live it up and make time for having fun.

You taught me to think for myself and to question the status quo.
You helped me to understand that life is a balance of highs and lows.

Now that I’ve grown up a little, I know you see yourself in me.
And there’s a reason, Dad, why your son is so much like you, you see.
It doesn’t have too much to do with luck or heredity.
Dad, I’m so like you because in many ways, it is you I want to be.

Until the day we have to part, know that I’ll mean these words forever.
With all my heart, I love you, Dad, and I have cherished our time together.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

