The Love My Parents Give Me

This is a poem I wrote to my parents for my gift to them last Christmas.

The Love My Parents Give Me
By Jordan Bates

The love my parents give me is sunlight,
Streaming through a window into my life.
Even when the window is ignored and gathers dust,
The light shines through.

The love my parents give me is gravity,
Grounding me in reality
Even when my mind wants to drift
Upwards, into the clouds.

The love my parents give me is the air
That I breathe, pure and essential
To my survival and well-being.
Without it, I would surely suffocate.

The love my parents give me is the ground
Beneath my feet, that which supports me
When I walk, run, or tumble from recklessness.
It persists unselfishly

The love my parents give me is the universe,
Indestructible, incomprehensible, and infinite,
Existing always even when I’m not aware.
It is perfect, and it is a miracle.

The love my parents give me is my soul,
Strengthening and defining me,
Driving me to do great things,
Motivating me when all else is dark.

The love my parents give me is a shoulder
To cry on when life gets shaky,
When frustrations feel overbearing,
When my burdens are too much to carry alone.

The love my parents give me is my life,
Beautiful and invaluable,
The greatest gift I could ever hope to receive.
I will always cherish it.

The love my parents give me is rivaled
Only by my love for my parents.

If you enjoyed this poem, you might enjoy another poem I wrote.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. The Rabbit—Relaxing Poem, Music, and Video. Enjoy. « People-Watching

Leave a Reply

